Some systems are experiencing issues

About This Site

Please check here for regular updates on the status of Chautauqua Institution and CHQ Assembly web properties and on-grounds services. For status changes and incident updates delivered automatically by email, click here or the Subscribe button at the bottom of the page.

For further assistance, our Ticket Office support staff is available 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. ET Monday–Friday. Contact ticketoffice@chq.org or call 716-357-6200. To contact Chautauqua Police call 716-357-6225 or email Police@chq.org. In the event of an emergency, dial 911.

Past Incidents

Tuesday 2nd February 2021

No incidents reported

Monday 1st February 2021

No incidents reported

Sunday 31st January 2021

No incidents reported

Saturday 30th January 2021

No incidents reported

Friday 29th January 2021

No incidents reported

Thursday 28th January 2021

No incidents reported

Wednesday 27th January 2021

No incidents reported

Tuesday 26th January 2021

Weather and Road/Sidewalk/Walkway Conditions Alert: Potential Ice Accumulation on Institution Roads and Pedestrian Paths

Institution roads and pedestrian paths may be difficult to navigate throughout the day today due to freezing rain. Chautauqua crews are pre-treating surfaces this morning as a preventative measure. Please exercise extra caution if you must traverse the grounds.

Monday 25th January 2021

No incidents reported

Sunday 24th January 2021

No incidents reported

Saturday 23rd January 2021

No incidents reported

Friday 22nd January 2021

No incidents reported

Thursday 21st January 2021

No incidents reported

Wednesday 20th January 2021

No incidents reported

Tuesday 19th January 2021

Weather and Road/Sidewalk/Walkway Conditions Continued Heavy Snowfall Expected through Wednesday

Consistent with the National Weather Service's ongoing Lake Effect Snow Warning, we expect potentially hazardous snowfall Tuesday afternoon and into Wednesday morning that may bring accumulations of up to 10 inches in the most persistent areas. Our grounds crews will work diligently to clear Chautauqua Institution roads and walkways, but may have temporary difficulties keeping up with the most persistent snow bands. Please expect slippery roads and walkways with likely accumulated snow and use caution when driving and/or walking on Chautauqua roads and walkways.

Monday 18th January 2021

No incidents reported

Sunday 17th January 2021

No incidents reported

Saturday 16th January 2021

No incidents reported

Friday 15th January 2021

No incidents reported

Thursday 14th January 2021

No incidents reported

Wednesday 13th January 2021

Weather and Road/Sidewalk/Walkway Conditions Alert: Ice Accumulation on Roads and Pedestrian Paths

Institution roads and pedestrian paths may be difficult to navigate this morning following ice accumulation overnight. Please exercise extra caution if you must traverse the grounds, or delay plans to do so until this afternoon when temperatures are forecast in the mid to upper 30s F. Staff are applying sand around the grounds, and are also applying salt in some areas.

Tuesday 12th January 2021

No incidents reported

Monday 11th January 2021

Classroom (learn.chq.org) Classroom (learn.chq.org) Outage

Content for the online classroom at learn.chq.org is failing to load. We are investigating the issue and will update the status page when we fix the error.

  • The error has been resolved, content is loading normally.

  • Sunday 10th January 2021

    No incidents reported

    Saturday 9th January 2021

    No incidents reported

    Friday 8th January 2021

    No incidents reported

    Thursday 7th January 2021

    Chautauqua Facilities and Services Temporary Operations Changes at Chautauqua Bookstore, Smith Memorial Library

    Chautauqua Institution is making the following temporary operations changes in compliance with our COVID-19 Safety Plans:

    Chautauqua Bookstore: The Chautauqua Bookstore is closed until further notice as one of the employees there was exposed to a family member who has tested positive for COVID-19. The bookstore will remain closed until we determine there is no risk to the public or staff.

    Smith Memorial Library: A member of the library staff is recovering from mild symptoms related to a COVID-19 diagnosis and completing requisite quarantine. Due to the resulting staffing shortage, the Smith will be closed Friday, Jan. 8, and will re-open Saturday, Jan. 9, with the following schedule until further notice, based on the availability of staff who have not been impacted: -Mondays, 12 to 5 p.m. -Wednesdays and Fridays, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. -Saturdays, 12 to 3 p.m.

    In both cases, the impacted employees reported no close contact with the public. Nevertheless, anyone experiencing symptoms is advised to contact their health care provider for advice.

  • Update: The Smith Memorial Library will resume regular winter business hours beginning Saturday, Jan. 23. In line with our safety plan, we have determined we can now safely resume normal operations.

    The Smith Memorial Library Winter Hours • Mondays, 12 to 6 p.m. • Wednesdays, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. • Fridays, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. • Saturdays, 12 to 3 p.m.

    (You can customize your notification options using the link in the email you received when you signed up, subject line “Manage Your Subscription.”)

  • Update: The Chautauqua Bookstore today has resumed its regular business hours, following a brief closure. In line with our safety plan, we have determined we can now safely resume normal operations. The Smith Memorial Library’s modified hours remain in place.

  • Weather and Road/Sidewalk/Walkway Conditions Snow and Ice Conditions

    Chautauqua Institution roadways and walkways are mostly clear with some patches of snow and ice remaining in less-traveled areas. Stay safe, everyone.

    Wednesday 6th January 2021

    No incidents reported

    Tuesday 5th January 2021

    No incidents reported

    Monday 4th January 2021

    No incidents reported

    Sunday 3rd January 2021

    No incidents reported

    Saturday 2nd January 2021

    No incidents reported

    Friday 1st January 2021

    No incidents reported

    Thursday 31st December 2020

    No incidents reported

    Wednesday 30th December 2020

    No incidents reported

    Tuesday 29th December 2020

    No incidents reported

    Monday 28th December 2020

    No incidents reported

    Sunday 27th December 2020

    No incidents reported

    Saturday 26th December 2020

    No incidents reported

    Friday 25th December 2020

    No incidents reported

    Thursday 24th December 2020

    No incidents reported

    Wednesday 23rd December 2020

    No incidents reported

    Tuesday 22nd December 2020

    No incidents reported

    Monday 21st December 2020

    No incidents reported

    Sunday 20th December 2020

    No incidents reported